Faces of Lindisfarne College, Ruabon


Lindisfarne College was a private school or independent school. It was founded in 1891 in Westcliff-on-Sea in Essex, England. In 1940 Lindisfarne College moved from Westcliff to nearby Creeksea Place, but during the Second World War the building was requisitioned by the military and the school transferred to Newburgh Priory at Coxwold in Yorkshire.

In 1950 the school made its final move to Wynnstay in Ruabon, Wrexham, which had once been the ancestral home of the Williams-Wynn family. The school itself closed due to insolvency in 1994, and its last home was converted into luxury apartments.

Here are some of the many faces that have attended Lindisfarne College (Wynnstay Hall) Ruabon. If you recognise any faces and would like us to add names let us know using the pic no or name.

A small selection of the most notable former pupils are:

Peter Lewis, British Army officer and journalist

Penny Rimbaud, writer, poet, philosopher, painter, musician and activist

Mulatu Astatke, jazz musician

Laurence Gower (1913-1997), academic and Vice-Chancellor of Southampton University from 1971-79 and notable for the Gower Report on financial services

Charles Lowick Higgie, Cheshire & North Wales Chess Champion, 1980 and 1990. Cheshire County Councillor 1997-2001

1st XV 1970




Fauconberg House – Summer Term 1975 Back Row: Shervin Matinkhou, Babak Kheradbakhsh, Mhedi Bolour-Foroosh, Richard McLean, Inayat Bagas, John Chamberlin, Nicolas Lek, Paul Chapman, Nigel Pitt, Mateo Soletic, Neil Ellwood, Juergen Altena. Fourth Row: Ivor Nassief, Graham Boshier, Bruce Thew, Richard Crewe, Oliver Sit, Rupert Dunn, Richard Majewski, Selim Yolac, Nigel Lapham, Stephen Stokes, Robert Owen, Robert Langley, James Lim. Third Row: Elizabeth Williams, Ian Pitt, Tak Loi Lo, Michael Jones, Wolf-Rainer Seeburg, Raj Patel, Michael Thornton, Shanker Jiwnani, Andrew Daulby, Carl Salisbury, Thomas James ap John, Johnathan Tomlin, Sian Williams. Second Row: Radzi Kamaruddin, Mark Brooks, Brad Downing, Maria Autiero (House Matron), Mr S. G. Brown (Assistant Housemaster), Mrs G. P. Cochrane, Mr G. P. Cochrane (Housemaster), Mr J.F.Sellars (House Tutor), Mr E.M.Price (House Tutor) David Pourbaba (Head of House), Allan Bullen, Mahmoud Jadwat, Robert Jones. Front Row: Mark Holmes, Julian Muirhead, Mark Williams, Bobby Arden, Campbell Nicolson, Lucas Lim, Dennis Massingham, David Thomas, Kurt Brewer, Peter Whalley, Christopher Needham.




























1957 Newburgh


Applying makeup for a Drama Priduction at Lindisfarne College, 1973


Cromwell 1971


Lindisfarne – Wynnstay Hall, Ruabon 1991


Lindisfarne at Wynnstay Hall, Ruabon


No.2453 Squadron, Lindisfarne


Robert Carrington presenting the Stirrup cup to Sir Watkin Williams Wynn 1965


Lindisfarne – Wynnstay 1968

Many of the pictures were supplied by Maria Autiero who was the House Matron for many years.

Lindisfarne College, Ruabon, Wrexham (closure)

If you were a former pupil take a look at their Facebook page.


Total Page Visits: 7827 - Today Page Visits: 2