Aradrwr (Ray Dawson Edwards), reporting on The Great Ambulance Adventure, reminded readers of Cliff Richard’s movie Summer Holiday, in which, “Cliff and the Shadows set off on holiday in a red double-decker bus in 1963.” [more]
Wrexham brass (Glyndwr) was formally known as The Rhos Silver Band was originally formed in 1884, making the band the oldest arts organisation based in the unique village of Rhosllannerchrugog, near Wrexham. Rhos as it [more]
Looking up a bustling Hope Street ,Wrexham in 1962
Source: NWN Media; Local Bygones. Enhanced by Wrexham History. Also see The Changing View of Yorke Street.
Church Street, Wrexham in 1924
Wrexham History Source: Memories of the Bulls Head, Rhos Narrated by Bill Portmadoc-Jones.
The 8mm film used in Memories of Llay was filmed between 1964 and 1996 by G. Crowley. All communities have their stories to tell, but isn’t there something special in stories about your village, [more]
Aberduna Mine SJ205618 Engine house – Listed Axton Mine SJ109805 Terrace of 3 miners’ cottages (SJ10788066) Mine Office (SJ10788066) called “Meadowcroft” Belgrave Mine SJ203589 Engine house? Bersham Colliery SJ314482 Canteen (SJ31454811) – Listed Electricity Sub [more]
The extensive occupations in coal mining is detailed below as used by the National Coal Board in 1952. COALFACE F.1 Collier Getting and filling coal on to conveyor or into trams; getting and filling coal, [more]
Maesgwyn Road, Wrexham. History The Mines Rescue Station was built was post 1912 in response to the Coal Mines Act 1911. It was built near to the Great Western Railway Station in Wrexham. A motor [more]